AGE MARCHES EVER ONWARDS

I lost a word today, a word that doesn’t mean
a thing to me except that it is lost, and I am
straining like a man with his morning newspaper
and his arse deep in the bowl. I know things
about this word; that it is green and can be stuffed
and that I don’t like them, can’t like them
but everyone else seems to – they pig-out
on them, relish the very idea of their existence.
Is this how age is seeping into my life?
I know I’ll never need this word, never have to ask
for a measure of these fruits that are not sweet
but the bitter taste of this loss carves deep
holes in my mind…and these pits are full
of olives!

Leave a Reply

