If not now, when?

I found the title for the Work in Progress – The Tower. Two scenes and a theme came floating into mind too. It was a good day. I walked in the sun, yes just breezed along on the shady side of the street and enjoyed a bit of exercise – gotta fit on that plane in six weeks! But then I also enjoyed a cheeseburger which that devil, Impulse made me buy but if that’s the worst thing I eat today it’ll be okay…and there is no chocolate, cakes or biscuits in the house. So that’s all right then.

The next thing is to discover why we get fog so I can set the month. I’m building a tower, designing a room, a man and his mother. The skeleton was created about five or six years ago so it’s very exciting to finally see how tall he stands and how thick the muscle grows, bulking out this hulk. I’m also very interested to see how this theme works in the three very different sections of the novel. At the minute my head is planning to write each section as a kind of stand-alone story between 20-30k, and I’m diving back into this character first, hooking up the electricity to charge the story. Even though he is not the main character, he has to grab the reader and imprison them.

I’ve tried rearranging this story, shifting the sections around, mixing them through each other, but I think it can only be told if he/Stuart goes first. So, in his story, he is the main character and this is a first for me. I don’t know if I can make a real man. Time will tell I suppose, and so will other men. I have access to quite a few male writers and will be charging them with this task.

Of all the projects on the shelf why did I choose this one, now? Why did I fling it onto the shelf all those years ago? I don’t know. If it feels right at the time then how can I argue? I want him, want that story in my life right now and that’s enough…and I can feel the second section pulling at me to finish with him and get to them – there’s a lot of fun to be had in that part of the story. I’m heading for the laughter, but must write the madness first.

Leave a Reply

