LAST POST: Books I’ve read this year

This is a bit like…and here’s one I did earlier; I posted some of this a couple of months ago but I thought I’d update it and do it right for the new year approaching. I want to try harder to take note of what I’m reading – I am getting old and my memory is not what it used to be. I’ve had to go all over the place to find some of these titles, and now that I’ve started it I want to remember all the books I’ve ever read and pay special attention to any that I loved particularly; that’s a project for the new year all right! Good luck with that.

Notice that I’ve had very few books in the hand – and that will get worse if I buy a Kindle. I’m seriously considering it but will have to promise myself that I will go out walking otherwise what’s the point? A hermit doesn’t need a reading gadget; she can browse the real thing in her hermitage.

Note to self: get new reading glasses.

Paper books in the hand:

Anne Bishop’s Pillars of the World

Chris Cleave’s The Other Hand

A.L. Kennedy Indelible Acts, Now that you’re back, So I Am Glad

Poetry:

Carol Ann Duffy, Edwin Morgan, Simon Armitage, Jackie Kay, Liz Lochhead, Sally Evans, Chris Powici, Christopher Barnes, Kevin Cadwallender, Poetry Scotland magazines…and a mixture of others

Reading on the ipod

Mary Roberts Rinehart’s The Circular Staircase

Oscar Wilde’s Picture of Dorian Grey

Audio:

Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings

Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth series – 13 books

Orson Scott Card – Enderverse series, Magic Street, Homebody, The Homecoming, The Worthing Saga, Treasure Box, Folk of the Fringe

Anne Rice – The Vampire Chronicles, The Witching Hour

Terry Pratchet – The Colour of Magic, A Hat Full of Sky, Witches Abroad, Hogfather, Wyrd Sisters

Stephen King – Rose Madder, Misery, Black House, The Talisman, Gerald’s Game, Everything’s Eventual

Terry Brooks The Sword of Shannara

Dean Koonz Cold Fire

Issac Assimov The Foundation series

This year was an adventure in Fantasy and Science Fiction because I want to write something witchy. I’ve had a great time with the big series: Foundation, Sword of Truth, Ender’s Game and The Vampire Chronicles – I just ate them up one after another! Must find more in the witchy line for next year.

 

Leave a Reply

